main | older |cast | profile | book | notes | e-mail | host | vivalicious.design

"Let there be snark on Earth, and let it begin with me." -Pandionna




cat


It has to start somewhere. It has to start sometime.
What better place than here? What better time than now?

[Monday, Mar. 23, 2009: 10:45 p.m.]


... ALL HELL CAN'T STOP ME NOW!

Every last store credit card run up after the divorce: Paid Off.

Surprise $650 fuel pump replacement repair cost from last week (Free towing! Thanks GEIC0 R0adside A$$istance!!): Paid Off.

Working for two months (at times literally) around-the-clock ((including one absolutely insane 48-straight-hours screamer)) at my three jobs Paid Off:

Because! I am typing this from my new(est) apartment, babies!!!

Hell to the yeah! I made a solemn vow to myself on my birthday that I simply would NOT be "that girl" living at home with the 'rents at 40 years of age. One month to the day later, here I am- completely unpacked and settled in, to boot.

Feels damned good, I can vouch!

... Aside from the dishwasher flooding the kitchen during the very first load. And the toilet flooding the bathroom after every flush ('Plunging' is a very clever word, so coined for LUNGING after you P!)**. Not to mention the hot water tank disgracing its given name for the stingingly icy excuse for a shower this morning. Plus the sketchy/creepy maintenance man who seems to think I created the aforementioned calamaties on purpose over the past two days, so he can keep hitting on me/asking me out/convincing me I need him as my boyfriend so he can "watch over and take care" of me. (We won't even discuss the upstairs neighbor. I'm sleeping with a bat and a knife tonight.)

Still! It's MINE! ALLLLLLL MINE!

... Well, okay. And C.E.'s too. At least only until she can afford to live on campus at College du Jour, according to her. Translated: SHE'LL be "that girl" living with the 'rents when she turns 40 years of age.

So yeah, back to my shameless bragging: That niggling feeling in your breastbone? Not that one- the other one. It's called jealousy! That's right! Feel the burn!! Not everyone can have '70s shit-brown painted cabinets with BRIGHT ORANGE laminate countertops. Or fraying and worn wall-to-wall directly atop concrete slab. I'm sorry.

Hmm. Now I'm understanding what "reasonable rent" actually means...

On the bright side, my livingroom furniture just barely fit through the door (I'm pretty sure Radio Guy has forgiven me for the terminally scraped and gouged knuckles, though). And I'm five miles from my Nanny job. And V.M. lives one not-quite-walking-distance street over. And there's direct bus service to C.E.'s job at Suicide Center, though doesn't know it yet. Hey, Mom has allowed her to "practice driving" plenty: The child should not be permitted to drive a tricycle, much less operate a motor vehicle!

Needless to say, I have discovered heretofore uncharted depths of exhaustion from events leading up to now. And of abject terror, from said driving practice runs. It is now for me to relax a hair tonight, then gear back up for the mad moneymaking jag ahead. Gotta makes the rents, instead of living with them, you know!

Not to close on a sad note, but one of my cleaning clients died a couple weeks ago of a massive stroke: Ev3lyn's mother. Remember? Ev3lyn of The Crazy-induced bagpiping fame? I also cleaned for her father, before begging Ma to take him off my hands a couple months ago. Anyway, it's so sad to think of seeing her the last I cleaned, less than a week before she passed on. She somehow knew the end was near, but I tried to assure her we'd see one another the following week. Sigh.

**- On a more upbeat note, this site? Hello, I'm 10 years old again. But(t), if my toilet keeps on like it is, I'll need buy some myself. Awww, g'on! Take the piss PLUNGE- click it!!

SNRK!! SNUFFLE! CHOKE!

Hee! Best thing since seeing sliced bread in a clear toaster! Yay, PicoCool.c0m! :D



illusory past / endless present

Won't you be my neighbor? - Friday, Apr. 03, 2009
Buzzing the tower - Thursday, Apr. 02, 2009
It has to start somewhere. It has to start sometime.
What better place than here? What better time than now?
- Monday, Mar. 23, 2009
Crimes and Misdemeanors - Friday, Feb. 27, 2009
Rantus Interruptus - Saturday, Dec. 13, 2008

Return to Top




The Graces:

bathtubmary
beckers-j
bettyford
biodtl
casa-rosie
coldandgrey
dandydandy
dieselengine (Locked)
dragonwench
drbigbeef
dukkha-tanha (Locked)
erianne1
geekboy61
hissandtell
idiot-milk
im2evil4u
la-the-sage
leftunspoken
mom-on-roof
oldmaid
poolagirl
red-wine
smokefree-me
stepfordtart
techrat
vina-apsara
yellow-ninja


('Lil Dude, courtesy of the gracious Nakedbarista.)